Being pulled over for drunk driving can be extremely stressful. A lot can happen during a DUI arrest. The best thing to do is be educated and informed about California DUI laws before you are arrested but learning about them after the fact can still help you understand your case better and help you identify potential defenses. If you were arrested for driving under the influence, the officer who arrested you will have taken your driver's license immediately into custody. They will then send it along with the notice of suspension or revocation you received as well as a report. From that point, the DMV will be the custodian of your license until your suspension or revocation has ended. A first time DUI offender will have their license suspended for at least four months and a repeat offender, who has had more than one DUI conviction in the last ten years, will face at least a year suspension. If you refuse to take a chemical test but then were later charged with a DUI, your license will be automatically suspended for one year for first time offenders, two years for second time offenders and 3 years for subsequent offenders. To get your license reinstated after this period, you have to pay a reinstatement fee in the amount of $125 to the DMV and submit your proof of financial responsibility with them; this would be either proof of SR-22 insurance or a $35,000 cash bond. If you feel your license was confiscated unjustly, consult with an experienced DUI defense attorney to discuss having an administrative hearing to explain your defense. Act fast, you only have ten days to request a hearing and you will have wanted to discuss your case with an attorney before that.
If you are in the Tulare, Fresno or Kings county area and have had your license suspended or revoked, our expert legal team can help. Attorney Christopher Martens is experienced in California DUI defense and can help you get your license back as soon as possible. Call our office at 559-967-7386 or email us at MartensLaw@gmail.com for a free consultation.